International Student Services

Information Sessions

Information Sessions

  • Information sessions are like a class.
  • An ISS adviser presents a “lesson” about a topic, usually with a PowerPoint presentation.
  • Students should arrive before the Info Session start time. Late arrivals usually cannot be accommodated.
  • There is opportunity for questions and answers at the end of the set presentation.

U.S. Government Updates for International Students

Discuss U.S. Government information about your study options for Spring 2020.

Upcoming Info Sessions

Attendance will be limited to online only – see our event calendar for registration and Zoom meeting room information.

  • Monday, March 16: 6:00  – 7:00 pm *Online only
  • Tuesday, March 17: 11:00 am  – 12:00 pm *Online only
  • Wednesday, March 18: 7:00 – 8:00 pm *Online only
  • Thursday, March 19: 5:30 – 6:30 pm *Online only
  • Friday, March 20: 6:30 – 7:30 pm *Online only
  • Monday, March 23: 5:00 – 6:00 pm *Online only
  • Tuesday, March 24: 6:00  – 7:00 pm *Online only
  • Wednesday, March 25: 5:30 – 6:30 pm *Online only
  • Thursday, March 26: 6:30 – 7:30 pm *Online only
  • Friday, March 27: 4:00 – 5:00 pm *Online only

Introduction to F-1 Employment & Internship Rules

Take this opportunity to learn the rules about what type of work or internship are allowed in the U.S. as an international student in F-1 status.

  • Are you allowed to work?
  • Volunteer?
  • Do paid or unpaid internships?
  • Do you need a Social Security Number to apply for jobs?

Learn the answers to these questions and more. This information session will provide an overview of employment and internship options for international students in F-1 status.

Winter Quarter Info Sessions

All info sessions are in Schmitz Hall, Room 490. Arrive early, as space is limited.

  • Thursday, January 30: 3:30 – 4:30 pm
  • Thursday, February 27: 3:30 – 4:30 pm
  • Cancelled: Monday, March 16: 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Curricular Practical Training (CPT)

Are you interested in getting permission to work off campus in a job related to your degree? Are you planning to find an internship (paid or unpaid)? If so, you will need to apply for Curricular Practical Training (CPT), a form of work authorization for current students. Learn who qualifies for CPT as well as how and when to apply.

Upcoming Info Sessions

Attendance will be limited to online only – see our event calendar for registration and Zoom meeting room information.

  • Tuesday, February 11: 3:30 – 4:30 pm
  • Wednesday, February 19: 12:30 – 1:30 pm *Location changed to Paccar 392
  • Wednesday, February 26: 3:30 – 4:30 pm
  • Tuesday, March 10: 3:30 – 4:30 pm *Online only

Final Quarter Info Session

Will you graduate in the coming academic year? Are you interested in learning if it is ok to be part-time your final quarter?

International students graduating Autumn 2019, Winter or Spring 2020, please attend the Final Quarter Info Session. Learn who qualifies for part-time status as well as how and when to apply. For further information, please see the Graduation: Final Year Checklist.

All info sessions are in Schmitz Hall, Room 490. Arrive early, as space is limited.

Wednesday, January 29: 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Optional Practical Training (OPT)

Are you interested in obtaining permission to work off campus in a job related to your degree? Learn about Optional Practical Training (OPT), a form of work/training authorization for current F-1 students and students who will graduate soon. Learn who qualifies for OPT as well as how and when to apply.

Upcoming Info Sessions

March 5, 2020 Update: Attendance will be limited to online only – see our event calendar for registration and Zoom meeting room information.

  • Wednesday, December 18: 3:30-4:30 pm
  • Wednesday, January 8: 3:30-4:30 pm
  • Wednesday, January 22: 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, February 12: 3:30-4:30 pm
  • Wednesday, February 19: 3:30-4:30 pm
  • Wednesday, March 11: 3:30-4:30 pm *Online only
  • Wednesday, March 25: 3:30-4:30 pm *Online only

STEM OPT Extension

Are you currently authorized for Optional Practical Training (OPT) and want to learn how to extend your work authorization? Learn about the STEM OPT Extension, a form of work/training authorization for current F-1 alumni who earned certain STEM degrees. Learn who qualifies for STEM OPT as well as how and when to apply.

Upcoming Info Sessions

Attendance will be limited to online only – see our event calendar for registration and Zoom meeting room information.

  • Thursday, March 12: 5:00-6:00 PM *Online only
  • Thursday, April 16: 5:00 – 6:00 PM *Online only
  • Thursday, May 14: 5:00 – 6:00 PM *Online only

Tax Workshop Schedule

Visit our Tax Workshops page for a schedule of ISS tax info sessions, Q&A sessions, and Student Fiscal Services tax overview sessions.